Laufskálaréttir - Horse gathering in North of Iceland

Goðandaginn! (hello, good morning, good day; in icelandic, 1 lesson, "goodandajinn")
Last weekend there was a big party atmosphere laying over Hjaltadal. The big time of the year, Laufskálarétt was taking place again, gathering home around 400 horses that have been up in the mountains over summer. This means, people are riding upp in the mountains and hearding the "wild" horses back down and later taking them home over winter. The horses upp in the mountain can be all from foals to older mares or geldings, and it is mostely the farmers around here that brings them upp there. This is a big event in Iceland wich also means, a big tourist attraction for horselovers. Farmers are offering tourists to ride with them upp and helping the gathering of the horses. This can be really fun and adventureus if you are an experienced rider. But I must say, if you are unexperienced and never have been hearding before, then you are mostely in the way and making the process (off already SEVERAL gathering hours) even longer... ;) But many icelanders are drunk on the horseback (not super ok in my eyes, but traditional) and probably isnt so helpfull either .. haha
 
I was not riding with in the gathering this year but I will hopefully do it one day :) But that was good for me, the freshness after fridaynights partying was long gone in the saturdaymorning. haha this is a real party weekend, Icelandic style! ;)
 
Here is some pictures from this magical weekend, taken by my friend and familymember Denise ;)
See the mountains in the background?
This is mee and Hannes (Sigurður). My housemate and friend ! Also Denises boyfriend ;)
I found a friend who was biting in my pockets after candy (also called Nammi in icelandic)
Went for some food and horse show early friday night, Denise, Sigga and Meeee
 
Party dressed and ready for some dancing and action!
 
Now I have to start writing my essay about the riders seat and how i can improve it myself. Maybe I should write something here about it also. Its a really important subject for riders! :)
See Yah later // Linda
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kommentera här: